Wait, what?

(Ok so obviously the following is all completely wrong and confusing in every way since I changed the name of my blog. It happens.)

This is where everybody who read my first post (numbering in the thousands I’m sure), is going um…..kay. Did ya put the ole WordPress on random when you picked the name for your blog? Maybe you didn’t notice it talks about you meeting somebody’s Dad? Do I need to explain to you about the weblogs like I did the Facebook and the Twitter?

Oddly enough, there is actually a method to my madness this time. Don’t get used to it. As a (barely) functioning TV junkie, I sometimes get my fix by watching How I Met Your Mother*. I hesitate to admit just how confused I was initially by the premise when my friend The Former Expatriate first told me about it. It’s just this guy telling his kids how he met their Mom? How long can that story really be? Wouldn’t that scene get pretty boring visually after a couple of episodes? Who the hell is that Barney guy? This is when The Former Expatriate should have realized she really needed to find smarter friends. If only she weren’t so nice.

Eventually even I managed to grasp the obvious: it’s not a little anecdote about the search for his baby’s Momma. It’s the story of his life. His friends, his job, his relationships, his strange little reflections, everything he remembers about the years leading up to when he met his wife. Because everything that happened to him made him who he is, the person he needed to be, which is…the…yeah I totally had it for a minute there.

So this is me, doing the same thing. Except not really, because this isn’t a flashback. Or a flashforward (how disappointing was that show after such an awesome beginning?!). My name is Megan, I’m 24, I live in Washington, DC and I’m telling my life story as it happens, with absolutely no clue how it’s going to turn out. Although me crawling around and around in a locked room with yellow wallpaper seems like a greater possibility each and every day.

*Yes this is the second time in as many posts that I have linked to Wikipedia. There I go again. How can I not bow to them and Google for providing me with instant answers to all those meaningless questions I have?
About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in True Story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wait, what?

  1. Kate says:

    Love that show. Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

