My Little Idiosyncrasies: #60

I am a TV junkie.

Not just a little obsessed. No, I need a good two or more fixes a day. I don’t just watch a show. I tear through every episode, every season, as fast as humanly possible until there’s nothing left. Then I move onto the next show. Pretty soon I’ve got the urge to re-watch an episode or two.

There’s no telling when I will get the craving or what exactly I’ll be jonesing for. I could be just about to fall asleep and suddenly be hit with an irresistible need to watch the West Wing episode when Josh fills in for C.J. as press secretary after she had an emergency root canal. Or in the middle of eating lunch when I suddenly simply must see the Scrubs musical episode one more time. While driving to work I am set upon with an unstoppable urge to relive the moment when Monk finally finds out who killed his wife. And those are all shows that are now off the air. We won’t even get started on those that are still going.

Have I mentioned I don’t have cable? Or any other channels? I’ve only owned one television my entire life, the 14-inch TV/VCR combo I received for Christmas in 2000. I watched, recorded, and replayed so many thousands of hours of television on that little set that it collapsed from exhaustion in late 2007. I am still impressed to this day that it lasted that long. It didn’t matter much because by then I had almost completely transitioned to the wonders of online TV watching.

When I was about 14 and already a self-diagnosed addict, I dreamed of the day when anyone would be able to watch any episode of any show any time they wanted. I knew it would happen. And it did, perhaps even a little sooner than I had anticipated. It started with a few episodes here and there and by my senior year of college, after the discovery of the Internet TV gold mine SurftheChannel, I had fully realized the dream.

Nowadays I know entirely too much about entirely too many shows. Trust me, if you’ve faithfully watched a series or two in your day, chances are I’ve seen it too. In fact, I can probably tell you my favorite line from my favorite episode. And hum the theme song (out of tune of course). Is that so wrong? Probably. Still – who knows when the ability to identify the sound of the TARDIS from a mile away might save my life some day?

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in My Little Idiosyncrasies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Little Idiosyncrasies: #60

  1. Pingback: Going cold turkey | The 1st draft…

  2. Pingback: My new (to me!) TV | The 1st draft…

  3. Pingback: Pretty much the opposite of a coach potato moment | The 1st draft…

  4. Pingback: Pizza in the morning, pizza in the evening, pizza in the afternoon | How I Met Your Dad

Leave a Reply

