The Red Jaguar Warrior: An Addendum

I already wrote about the epic epicness that is the Warrior Dash in which I competed on Sunday. But now that the professional photos taken at the event have been posted, I just have to add this addendum. Because these are quite literally the coolest pictures of me that have ever or will ever be taken. Although I should probably apologize in advance for the poor quality; they are low res versions of photos I will eventually be shilling out entirely too much money to purchase from Brightroom.

We’ll start with my least favorite of the bunch. It’s a nice action shot that’s a little ruined by my facial expression. Apparently this is the face I make when you point a camera at me after I have just scaled a wall:

Not bad, right? Now let’s fast forward to the end of the race. I met up with my roommate The Tangential One and her sister, who flew out to join us for the Dash, after they crossed the finish line. Someone managed to get this shot of us in all our mud and glory. And yes my Mom has already reminded me of all the times I made fun of her for having a huge bright smile no matter what the occasion:

So obviously between the first photo and this one, I had some serious run-ins with mud. I wouldn’t call them confrontations per se because as I’ve explained, mud and I actually have quite a loving relationship. Here’s a great example of one of our bonding moments:

When I saw this photo I fell in love with it so completely I was sure it would be my favorite one from the entire race. If only I knew of the indescribable joy and pride that would be invoked by the final photo I found. Prepare yourself, its amazingness is really shocking to behold:

I mean, I’m JUMPING over FIRE. My feet are flying through actual flames. And notice how closely I am looking at the fire. Oh yes, I’ve got that fire right where I want it. Those flames aren’t going anywhere without my say so. Which is great since my jumping skills are about what you would expect from a short white chick. Thank goodness mud apparently is not a very flammable substance because at this point my lower body was positively saturated.

Upon seeing this photo my Mom asked me in horror: “They made you jump through fire???” No, Mom, they didn’t make me. I chose to jump through fire. I’m just that cool. And just that nuts.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Epic Epicness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Red Jaguar Warrior: An Addendum

  1. Pingback: My Little Idiosyncrasies: #82 | The 1st draft…

  2. Kate says:

    We are doing this next year. I’m a little hurt that you didn’t ask me to make an impromptu flight halfway across the country to join you on this one. Also: Olmec would be proud of you.

Leave a Reply

