My Little Idiosyncrasies: #26a

I love science fiction.

A fact I haven’t always been so willing to admit. Let’s review my long history with this glorious yet somehow shunned genre…

Year: 1994 Age: 8 I don’t remember how or why I first start reading Animorphs, but it quickly becomes my favorite kids series EVER. For a long time I measure the length of a month by the time between my trips to Waldenbooks for the next book. It would be 12 years before I realized it was science fiction.

Year: 2000 Age: 14 Fully in the throes of my television addiction, I’m looking to fill the only free night in my TV schedule: Saturday. Except there is a serious lack of good television on Saturday nights. This is where a normal person would have realized that was because Saturday is when people actually go out and have lives. Somehow the point alludes me. Eventually I hear that after the nightly news, ABC plays reruns of some show with Richard Dean Anderson. As someone who was in love with MacGyver at the age of 3, I decide to give it a shot. My instant infatuation with Stargate is what first makes me wonder whether the normal people are right about this sci-fi thing.

Year: 2001 Age: 15 Having grown accustomed to having at least one show that is on every day,  I notice TNN (aka Spike) airs two hours of Star Trek: The Next Generation reruns daily. Never one to argue with that much regular content, I boldly go. Thus begins my 6 years of being a closeted trekker. Notice I do not say trekkie, mostly because I never tried to learn Klingon. Or create a lifesize replica of the bridge of the Starship Enterprise in my basement.

Year: 2007 Age: 20 After realizing that a) a large number of my favorite shows involve either space or other worldly creatures and b) my favorite childhood book series was about aliens invading Earth and kids turning into animals, I finally admit to myself that I am indeed a science fiction nerd. By this time I have absorbed just about all the sci-fi television I can find, from the mainstream Angel and Buffy the Vampire Slayer to the various reincarnations of Star Trek. Then The Former Expatriate tells me about Firefly and my mind explodes with the brilliance of it all. I will never stop grieving for the quick end to that show.

Apparently my sci-fi nerdom is at such a level that its timeline requires multiple installments. I know you’re at the edge of your seat, so stay tuned for the conclusion. Don’t worry, I won’t make you wait a week/three months like they do on TV.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in My Little Idiosyncrasies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Little Idiosyncrasies: #26a

  1. Pingback: That time when my students found my old blog | The 1st draft…

  2. Pingback: I’m pretty sure Gene Roddenberry actually did travel to the future | The 1st draft…

  3. Pingback: Flowchart for scifi books? Yes please! | The 1st draft…

  4. Pingback: Let’s try this again… |

  5. Pingback: Pizza in the morning, pizza in the evening, pizza in the afternoon | How I Met Your Dad

Leave a Reply

