This kid is going to be so cool.

My sister has always been unpredictable. Not unpredictable like I wonder what music she’ll be into next; more like I wonder what country she may decide to move to tomorrow. This quality of hers has given me ample opportunity over the years to amaze my friends with the crazy thing my sister is doing this week. Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro, skydiving, finishing an Ironman, climbing a glacier, taking up the didgeridoo, you just never know what she is going to do next. I was the sister who wanted normal stuff like a good career, husband, and kids, and she was the one who could never find a man who could keep up.

Well…about two and a half years ago my sister came to me and mentioned that she was talking with a guy she really connected with. A few weeks later they were getting serious. About a week after that she told me they were engaged and planning on getting married in my parent’s backyard in two months. It was definitely the most unpredictable thing she had ever done (and that’s saying something), but also the best.

A few days later we were all gathered around the table talking and somebody mentioned them having kids. The look on my sister’s face was priceless. She had been bugging me for the longest time to learn Spanish so we could have secret conversations. I seized the moment and said: “Ok Sis, if you have a kid, I’ll learn Spanish.” I knew I had her this time!

You all know where this is headed, right? A year and a half later I was borrowing Pimsleur’s Spanish I from the library. Once again my sister had amazed me with her ability to make things happen. She decided she wanted to have a child and, a month later, she was pregnant.

This is all a long way of announcing that a few days ago my newest niece The Lady of the Sea was born. Last Wednesday night my Mom flew down to Honduras where they live and by Thursday morning, the contractions had begun! Girl’s got timing. Of course she is just about the most adorable thing ever. I get goosebumps when considering just how cool her life is going to be. I mean, she’s going to have her passport before (possible TMI moment coming) her umbilical cord falls off. Her family lives on a sailboat that can take them wherever they want to go in the world. This kid is going to have more life experiences by the time she is 2 years old than I’ve had in all my 24.

I’m really gonna have to step up my Cool Aunt routine with this one.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Adorable Children! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This kid is going to be so cool.

  1. sis says:

    https://himyd.wordpress.com/2010/10/24/this-kid-is-going-to-be-so-cool/

    please refer to the third paragraph, last line.

    working on it?

    sis

  2. Pingback: How I Met Your Dad

  3. I know, isn’t it? I had this post written days ago but it was worth the wait to be able to include that pic!

  4. Kate says:

    That photo is *precious*

Leave a Reply

