Pizza in the morning, pizza in the evening, pizza in the afternoon

I’ve already discussed a couple of my addictions such as television and all things sci-fi related. I’m sure one by one many of my other obsessions will come up – books, politics, my nieces and nephews, soccer, the color blue…it’s an extensive list. Basically I have no willpower.

By far one of the things that tests that willpower the most is pizza. No matter how much I am trying to cut calories, I will always find a way for pizza. This can be bad for both my wallet and my waistline. Because despite being small in stature, I can put back a serious amount of food. Usually I am able to stop myself, but give me a large Papa Johns cheese pizza and I will have to exert myself to stop at 5 slices. Recently my solution has come in the form of Papa John’s lunch special: a small cheese pizza for $5 if you order it before 4. I play soccer every Saturday morning, so I figure if I eat a small pizza after that 90 minutes of chasing a ball around, it’s not so bad, right?

Of course things always happen to disrupt this carefully engineered system. My roommate The Tangential One, for one. She knows I am physically incapable of saying no to the question “Hey I’m ordering pizza do you want some?” This is usually around 8 p.m. when I’ve already eaten dinner, but somehow I find a way.

Last Thursday I had just left work and drove by some poor soul dressed as a pizza slice, waving a sign that said the local Papa Johns was selling 2 large pizzas for $10. As you may have guessed, car swerving ensued. Then on Friday in an attempt to share this Providence, I mentioned the deal to my co-workers. Except this inspired two of them to order it for lunch. By that afternoon there were parts of 3 cheese pizzas with my name on them sitting in refridgerators.

At this point I have had pizza for dinner, then lunch the next day, then dinner that night, then lunch the next day. And guess what’s on the menu for lunch at the office?

Somehow, it never gets old.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Nuttin' and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza in the morning, pizza in the evening, pizza in the afternoon

  1. Pingback: Pizza tradition | The 1st draft…

  2. Pingback: Way too much temptation |

Leave a Reply

