Wherein I get very sappy

WARNING: Serious cheesiness ahead. Also a little bit of blubbering.

If I had to pick the aspect of my life in which I have been the most blessed, it would be my family. I don’t just love my family, I really like them. Sure, when I was younger I was involved in my share of sibling bickering. And of course as a teenager I did disagree from time to time with decisions that were made on my behalf by my parents. But for the most part, I get them. And they get me.

The rarity of this situation was made abundantly clear to me in college. To this day most of my friends have fairly complicated relationships with their parents. Somewhere along the way I realized it’s not exactly normal to want to share every minute detail of your life with your Mom on a daily basis. Or to base all moral decisions on what your Dad would do.

I love being a part of a family. Don’t get me wrong, I have amazing friends and I love hanging out with them. But I’m a very strange 20-something. I would enjoy a Friday night sitting at home talking to my 9-year-old nephew just as much as going out for a night in Georgetown or Adams Morgan. I would trade dinner at a fancy restaurant for a weenie roast with everybody in my parent’s backyard.

Not being there for the everyday family things going on back in my Midwestern hometown is without a doubt the #1 disadvantage to living in DC. I often wish we could just relocate the entire capital to somewhere like St. Louis. After all, the capital of the U.S. should be more centrally located in the country, right? Ok, I get it, when the location was chosen DC was at the center. But still.

Thankfully, technology means I can still stay in constant contact with everyone. Usually. But two weeks ago my Mom flew down to Honduras to be with my sister while she had her first baby. Her phone will be in the off position for a month. So now we’ve finally gotten to the point of this post: I miss my Mommy!!!

Add to that the fact that today my Dad is flying down to Honduras as well and in a few more day’s time my brother and his fiancee are going to Jamaica, and I’m going to be just about the only one left in the country! Luckily I will be joining almost all of them in Jamaica a week from today for my brother’s wedding (Now that’s a sentence you don’t get to say every day – further explanation will be forthcoming!).

If I make it that long.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

