Meet Me in Jamaica!!

My brother is a pretty quiet guy. By that I mean before I call him I come up with about five points of conversation so I can make the call last longer than 60 seconds. What with being born between my sister and I, he really didn’t have much of a chance.

But it’s worth the work every time I manage to break through. My brother is an amazing guy – strong, funny, a hard worker, and a great dad. Others have told me he’s also quite hot but I prefer not to dwell on that. Last year he was on the dating scene for all of about 8 months before he managed to meet and fall in love with an awesome lady. At this juncture I’d just like to point out that he lives in my small Midwestern hometown, while I live in a city with over half a million people. You would think based on population alone I would have the dating advantage. Maybe I should give quiet a try.

Anyway, my brother and his fiance are getting married next Sunday in Jamaica. That second part came as a bit of a shock. But who am I to argue with saying your vows in a tropical paradise? So tomorrow I will be leaving DC with its high of 59 and flying to Montego Bay, Jamaica, where the temperature never ventures outside of the 70-80 degree range. Even better, most of the rest of my family will be converging at the same spot – although my sister and her new little family will be sorely missed.

Flying to Jamaica was not exactly something in my budget, but it will be well worth it to spend four days relaxing on the beach with my family and be there to watch my brother marry the woman he loves. If I’m going to go broke anyway, I might as well enjoy myself, right?

I should probably start packing…

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

