Couples only

So since my brother’s wedding was more than a week ago I should probably wrap this thing up, huh? Before I get to the wedding, I would just like to say that staying at a couples-only resort with your parents can be an interesting experience. Since Mom was perfectly content to lay on the beach all day long, Dad and I ended up doing all the activities together. This led people to jump to some pretty disturbing conclusions.

Before I tell you the rest it’s important to keep in mind a couple things: one, my parents had me kind of late so there are almost four decades separating us in age and two, I look a lot younger than I really am. Granted, I get that from my Dad and he also looks a lot younger than he is, but most people don’t have any problem figuring out how we are related. Unless we’re at a couples-only resort in Jamaica apparently.

One morning as the two of us were getting a sailing lesson, the instructor looked over and asked in his carefree Jamaican accent, “You two on your honeymoon?”

“Yeah right,” I laughed, joining in on the joke…except he wasn’t joking. He was serious. The small talk died a pretty quick death after that.

Later when we returned to the beach the resort’s photographer asked us to pose for a never ending stream of pictures. “Move closer, mon, move closer,” he urged. I’m good, thanks.

I ask you, does this ↑ look like a honeymoon couple? If the answer is yes, do me a favor, don’t tell me.

After all the craziness leading up to the big day, the actual wedding part of the trip went perfectly. The setting was stunning. The bride and groom were gorgeous. The preacher was funny. We laughed, we cried, we took pictures, we danced, and we ate a whole lot of delicious food.

The couple said their I do’s standing barefooted on the white sands of a private beach. Yes, the scene was just as picturesque as it sounds (and looks). → My favorite part might have been after it was all over and my brother’s new father-in-law asked “So this thing is  good in the United States, right?” I have a feeling our families are going to get along just fine.

All in all my trip to Jamaica was amazing – I got a tan, played beach volleyball, went water-skiing in the ocean, relaxed on the beach, won second prize in a ping pong tournament, went sailing…it was all I could have hoped for. But even if that weren’t true, seeing the happiness and love on my brother’s face in that moment on the beach made the whole trip worth it.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in True Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Couples only

  1. Pingback: I can expense this, right? | The 1st draft…

  2. Kate says:

    Hey, could you forward this to Jamaica for me?
    Dear Jamaica,
    I’m a little sad for the state of things in world of affluent Americans that you couldn’t infer that these two were a father-daughter couple as opposed to a — ahem — couple couple. Next time you see a pair of people with an age difference of four decades that is actually a couple couple, please notify the authorities and then go take a shower.
    Love,
    Kate
    P.S. Thank you for the pictures, Megan!

Leave a Reply

