Let’s try this again…

My roommate The Tangential One and I are always trying to come up with the perfect blog name and/or theme.  I myself am on my fourth in two years. It’s a process, trying to figure what works and what doesn’t, what’s catchy and what gives you the most opportunity to say what you want to say.

The problem is we are always tempted to buy the domain that matches whatever idea we just came up with. I used to tease her about buying a domain at the drop of a hat, but then I had to stop because I did the same thing with HowIMetYourDad.com. I loved the idea behind it and still do, but slowly I’m realizing that I care too much about people’s first impressions of what the name means. I don’t really mind if strangers jump to conclusions, but when it comes to my family and friends, I don’t want to have to explain every time that it’s not a blog about my hunt for a man. Not wanting to share the web address of your blog for fear people will make the wrong assumptions is kind of a problem. This became painfully obvious when I was really hesitant to include the blog address on my Christmas cards. Yes, it’s dumb to worry about what other people think, but that doesn’t stop me from doing it anyway.

So thus begins take five of my blog. I am changing the name, but not the substance. I’ve been using “the first draft of my life story” as a tagline for a while and it’s really grown on me. I like it because it captures what my blog is all about while alluding to my passion for writing at the same time. We’ll see how long it can remain in my good standing. I have high hopes when I look at the great example set by The Tangential One, who seems to have created her perfect blog: http://confessionsofalongdistancewife.com/. Of course I couldn’t resist buying the domain again. I really don’t ever learn.

To quote Doctor Who (if you think that’s nerdy, I refer you to my little idiosyncracy #26): It’s a thing in progress. Respect the thing.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Nuttin' and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s try this again…

  1. Pingback: Wait, what? | The 1st draft…

Leave a Reply

