The One-Year Mark

For me the end of this month will signify not only the end of 2010, but also the end of my first year at my job. It got me thinking and I realized, all my life I have never done the same thing, day in and day out, for a whole year. Sure I went to school for 17 years straight, but every year there were new teachers, new classmates, new subjects. Junior high was very different from elementary school, high school was very different from junior high, and college was colossally different from high school. Plus those little things called summer and winter break did wonders for breaking things up. I did have several jobs and internships along the way, but none lasted more than a few months, unless you count the newspaper column I had in high school that I only spent about 2 hours a week writing.

Then after graduation I got a communications job working on a congressional campaign, which is by definition short-term. In some ways the five plus months I spent working on that campaign felt longer, probably because of the 70-hour weeks. But mostly it flew by, simply because we were too busy running a million miles an hour to notice the passage of time.

Then began my year of unemployment. To pass the time between the endless job applications, I interned* on the Hill a couple days a week. Eventually I had to get a job at a Starbucks in Target – boy did that one get old fast.

Then exactly one year ago today, I received the most glorious phone call of my life, the one with someone offering me a paying job doing something I loved. It seems like so long ago. I feel like I’ve worked at my company forever (in a positive way…mostly). I can’t believe I can only add one year of experience to my resume. I’ve done so much, learned so many things, written so many thousands of words. If this is what I’m feeling after one year, how will it be after two? Or five? How in the world do people keep the same job for 20 years??

*Interned being another word for worked for free
About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Nuttin' and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The One-Year Mark

  1. Thanks roomie! If by celebrate you mean we should go see a movie or perhaps order pizza and watch one at home…I say yes please!

  2. Looks like we are going to have to celebrate…Let me be the first to say Happy job-iversary!!!

    *BTW, while I know the Starbucks job wasn’t your favorite thing to do, to say the least, I will always miss you working there because 1) you didn’t actually like coffee 2) you brought home those delicious scones!

Leave a Reply

