My Little Idiosyncrasies: #44

I am really loud.

What can I say, I have no volume control. If I’m excited, nervous, intrigued, upset, or basically at all conscious, my voice tends to get very loud, very quickly. Being with me in a confined space such as a moving car can be hazardous to your ear drums.

Shortly after I started living with The Flying Crane I happened to comment on this quality of mine and apologize if she had experienced it firsthand. She admitted she had but that it was okay. “If we’re ever having a conversation and I back up a little, please don’t think I’m not interested in what you’re saying,” she said. “Sometimes I just need there to be a little more space between us while you’re talking.” Noted.

The problem is, I never notice while it’s happening. I’ll be talking to someone standing right next to me and only after they reel from the decibels do I notice that I’m practically shouting into their ears. Years of my Mom telling me to speak softer had no effect.

So today my boss was interviewing a graphic designer and wanted me to speak with her as well since we would be working together a lot. He stepped away for a minute while we were standing in the hallway and I struck up a conversation about the weather to fill the silence. 20 seconds later I hear my boss walking back towards me.

“Shhhhh…,” he whispered, putting his finger to his mouth. “Shhhh…inside voice.”

Sorry, sir, that was my inside voice. You should hear me when I’m shouting.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in My Little Idiosyncrasies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Little Idiosyncrasies: #44

  1. Pingback: That time when my students found my old blog | The 1st draft…

  2. Kiya says:

    Sounds like me. (Sound. Ha.)
    I honestly don’t think I’m that loud… but my brother and sister are all “SHUT UP!!! QUIET DOWN,” and I get irritated because I’m just not that loud. Or am I?

  3. This post just made me laugh. Brandon and I went to bed early last night and I was like “oh, Megan’s home.” But we love you, loud voice, and all!

Leave a Reply

