Moving, part 1: How many times can mail be forwarded?

I am so sick to death of moving. For the first 18 years of my life, I lived in the same small town. Ok, so we did move within the town, first to a rental house while our new house was being built, and then again when the new house was done. But since I was about 8 at the time, I didn’t really take part in all the agonizing activities that come with moving.

Since then I have moved into a dorm room at Mizzou, out of the dorm room, back into a dorm room, then to an off-campus condo, then to DC for an internship, then back to the off-campus condo, then to Chicago, then back to my parents’ house, then to a row house on Capitol Hill, and finally to my current apartment. This all took place in a less than 6 year period. All in all my Mom had to write in a new address for me in her book 8 times. I’ve probably got my own section at this point.

Alas, she’s going to have to cross out another one. Last January I was living with my two roommates in a two bedroom, one bathroom row house. They were sharing a room, one of them had recently gotten married, and I had just gotten a job in northern Virginia. Clearly, it was time to move. While my roommate’s new husband was going to school in Kansas, he did come out for extended visits as often as possible and so my other roommate and I started looking for a two bedroom place, assuming the newlyweds would be getting their own space to be, well, newlyweds.

Apparently that was not the case. Long story short, we decided to find a three bedroom place. I was happy to give my roommate and her husband another year to figure out their housing but sad about the fact that I knew I would be moving again in a year. It meant that any time I thought of painting, hanging things on my walls, or doing anything else to make the place feel more like home, the fact that it would all be undone in a few months stopped me. Also the fact that I’m lazy.

So here it is, almost February, and moving time again. Luckily my parents are coming out to assist this time. I never used to stress about moving until the one time I tried moving without them there…big mistake. It didn’t help that we were trying to move during the freakin’ Snowpocalypse. So help me, if I have to try to move again in three feet of snow…

As sick of moving as I am, that is how EXCITED I am about getting settled in this new place. But that’s a story for another day.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Nuttin', That's Very Irksome and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

