I may never get dry.

Mother Nature was really set against me playing soccer today. First she freaked everyone out with predictions of hail and tornadoes. Somehow we escaped cancellation. Then she just would not let up on the rain – by the end of the first half we were tied 0-0, and we were soaked. Normally I wouldn’t mind a tie too much, but this season for my team is all about proving to the league administrators that they made a huge mistake when they threw us in with all the teams in the lowest division. Which means we have to win every game.

So when the ref suggested calling the game after she had to stop it due to a flash of lightning shortly into the second half, that was really not an option for us. She argued that after we waited the required 30 minutes (does that seem a bit excessive to anyone else?), we would only have 9 minutes to play anyway so it didn’t really matter. But damnit, I wanted those 9 minutes!

So we waited. In the rain. Thirty minutes later, there had been no further lightning and we started playing again. Two minutes after that I watched a teammate send the ball sailing on the wind into the back of the net. A little more playing in the now torrential rain and we could chalk up another win. What do you think of those nine minutes now, ref?

That’s what I thought.

The best part was that I was supposed to be going to a movie with The Flying Crane right afterward. As soon as the whistle blew I dripped my way to my car, shinguards and all, and rushed home to pick her up. She brought me a clean shirt and we made it for the previews. Good thing I didn’t happen to meet the love of my life at that theater, because I think he would have run in the other direction from this:

Oh crap, what if he did?!? Now that’s a thought that’s gonna fester.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Epic Epicness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I may never get dry.

  1. Pingback: I made it a week!! | The 1st draft…

Leave a Reply

