The two stooges

Somehow when Mom and I get together we often inadvertently find ourselves in a Three Stooges act. A couple of days ago when we were hanging pictures I just about pulled a chair right out from under her as she went to step on it. I constantly make wrong turns driving places I’ve been a dozen times before when she is in the passenger seat.

Tonight we took it to a new level.

It all started when I bought us two tickets on Fandango to see Water for Elephants. Normally I hate using Fandango because 1. they charge a fee and 2. they always want me to buy tickets at the wrong theater. But I had a gift card, so away we went with our printed out tickets.

As we’re driving Mom is reading what’s on the ticket, including the address of the theater. I groaned before she even got to the city, realizing I had bought two tickets to see the movie at the wrong place – damn you Fandango!!! I held out hope that since the theater was owned by the same company, we’d be able to get in anyway.

Then Mom stepped out of the car, the wind caught the tickets in her hand, and away! they! flew! I start chasing after them halfheartedly, partly because I figured Mom would catch them first, and partly because I was laughing so dang hard watching her try. It was like out of a movie – every time she got close, another gust of wind would whisk them away.

Finally it dawned on me that we were actually going to lose the tickets if I didn’t get it together. I dropped my purse and put it in high gear – or as high as my gears get when I’m wearing flip flops, have a busted toe, and am laughing so hard I can barely breathe. I managed to step on one of the tickets but the other one must have been a free spirit because it was flying high and I was pretty much spent. This was one seriously long parking lot.

Eventually a fence stopped it from blowing any farther and I returned, gasping for breath, with my spoils: one ticket with a muddy footprint and one soggy from a wet fence. Both for a movie at a theater 30 minutes away.

20110426-103010.jpg

Later Mom could still not decide which show was more enjoyable: the one on the big screen or the one in the parking lot.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

