In memory of Don

Don Chapman was the most competitive person I ever knew – and in my family, that is truly saying something. I used to think my love of competition came entirely from my Dad. A few minutes with Don always reminded me a fair share of that competitive fire came from my Mom’s side of the family. He understood the joy that comes from winning a hard-fought victory, as well as the wisdom that comes from an equally hard-fought defeat (although of course that didn’t happen very often).

Don was also one of the kindest and most devoted people I’ve had the pleasure to know. Faith and family meant everything to him. When I moved to Chicago without knowing a soul, he and Karen made me feel like I was part of a tight-knit family the moment I walked in their door. That 4th of July might have been the first time I didn’t watch the fireworks from my hometown – but that doesn’t mean I didn’t feel right at home on the Chapman’s back porch.

It seemed I was destined to stay a part of the Chapman family when I happened to move to Washington, D.C. around the same time as Don’s son Chris and his family. Once again I have been blessed to be around a loving and devoted family. I am so glad I was able to spend time with Don a few weeks ago when they visited D.C. I owe so many happy memories to him.

What a blessing that I’ll be able to carry this Distinguished Citizen with me always.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

