Warrior Dash: Superhero edition

I’ve discussed the fact that the Warrior Dash is my dream 5k because it’s less of an actual run and more of an obstacle course with one serious dose of mud. Yesterday was my second go at this epic race and after last year, the event had a lot to live up to.

It did not disappoint.

A few months back I threw down the gauntlet to pretty much every person I knew in the DC area. I found it quite telling that all but one of the people who expressed interest were on one of my soccer teams. Either soccer players are truly hard core or we just really like playing in the mud. Eventually the group got whittled down to four women and we decided to go for a superhero/villain theme.

Poison Ivy definitely wins the prize for best costume, both in overall look and commitment – the girl made a corset out of green duct tape, fake leaves, and a shoelace. All I did was buy some cat ears and put on a lot of spandex.

We were a bit crunched for time so I was busy trying to tie the race tracker into my shoelaces seconds before the race started and didn’t get them as tight as usual. This detail became important about 5 minutes later when I happily bounded for the first deep section of mud. SHLOOOOOP went my cleat as it deserted me to the depths of muck (it was not the only shoe there). I took a moment to feel abandoned before digging it out and shoving it back on my now saturated foot. Ah, the joys of the Warrior Dash.

I took a leaf out of The Tangential One’s book and actually brought a disposable camera with me through the whole race. It wasn’t water proof, but boy was that little camera tough! Besides grinning like a Cheshire Cat, I never know quite what to do in pictures, especially with my arms. This time I had a signature pose and wow did I stick to it:

Last year’s Dash had quite a few amazing obstacles, but there was one this time around I hadn’t seen before. It was less of an obstacle and more of just a crazy fun slide. It seemed harmless until I somehow ended up headfirst and backwards.

Unfortunately I did not get any pictures of me jumping over fire or climbing under barbed wire (I was a teensy bit preoccupied) but I’m hoping the professionals did.

I did however make someone take one of us at at the finish line after we’d gotten our medals (and yes I am still making that ridiculous pose). Victory is sweet! Now to get that mud out of my ear before it
dries there…

After getting hosed down, I found myself absolutely STARVING. But after finishing a race as primal as the Warrior Dash, only certain foods will satisfy. The best option, of course, is having a giant turkey leg to gnaw on for awhile.

In summary, the Warrior Dash was the coolest thing I’ve ever done. Again.

Check back on Thursday when I’m supposed to get my hands on the professional shots!

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Epic Epicness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Warrior Dash: Superhero edition

  1. Pingback: That time when my students found my old blog | The 1st draft…

  2. Pingback: Warrior shots from the professionals | The 1st draft…

  3. Yeah one of my friends had the genius idea to give the camera to someone ahead of us so they could take a pic as we went down. I know what you mean about getting tangled – I almost cleated someone in the face! Can’t wait until the next Dash!

  4. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas says:

    Your costumes are great! I did Warrior Dash on Sunday and wish I got a picture of me going down the slide. My friend and I ended up getting totally tangled up on it – which was funnier than it sounds. Really good times 😀

Leave a Reply

