Proper biking attire

Every weekday morning I have the same debate between wearing pants or a dress to work – but not for the reasons you might think. Now that it’s officially hot outside, a nice summer dress always seems like that best plan. That is until I climb up on this:

20110527-052352.jpg

As you may notice, my bike is rather small and child-like. The last owner used it from second to fifth grade. For self-esteem purposes I'm just going to go ahead and say that she was a really tall second grader.

As you might imagine, dress + bike often equals some awkward situations, ranging from flashing random strangers to getting the skirt caught in the spokes and being unable to get off the bike without hearing the sound of ripping fabric.

The problem is I really hate walking. Even though it’s really not that far to the metro, it seems like it takes forever to walk there. Yes I do get bored that easily. Plus, those are valuable minutes I could be sleeping. I get what’s probably an inordinate amount of joy from whizzing past on my bike the unending line of commuters walking to the metro.

Lately I have been asking myself just how wrong it would be to wear bike shorts under those dresses of mine…

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Proper biking attire

  1. Pingback: Grand theft bicycle | The 1st draft…

  2. So far two votes in favor – looks like this is happening on Tuesday!

  3. Kate says:

    I think you absolutely should wear bike shorts under the dresses, or short leggings — it’s actually a cute look! 🙂

Leave a Reply

