Not exactly freedom fries

I am deeply grateful to all the men and women who choose to serve our country and have sacrificed so much so we can enjoy the freedoms we do. They are the true heroes that we should be honoring on Memorial Day and all year round.

That being said, my taste buds were really not doing their patriotic duty this year. As a kid, my family used to go to this town-wide picnic of sorts for Memorial Day and chow down on ribs, corn on the cob, and other go America! foods. All I wanted this year, all I’ve been craving for days and days, is chicken tikka masala and naan from our local Indian place. The roomie and I made plans a week ago to order it this afternoon and I was deeply crushed when they did not answer the phone. I guess demand at Khoinoor Dhaba is pretty light on Memorial Day.

Sadly our backup plan was equally unpatriotic:

20110530-040831.jpg

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

