Best Gchat EVER!!

I’m not a very impulsive person. Occasionally I’ll do something spur-of-the-moment, but for the most part, I’m a planner. I like to weigh my options, make pro-con lists, get advice, and generally just analyze things to death.

My sister is the spontaneous one. She is always getting on a plane somewhere new, learning a new language, mastering a new skill, finding a new hobby. Don’t get me wrong – she does her research and knows her stuff. She just does it at a very accelerated pace. Her adventures always make the best stories. Oh the blogs I could write if I lived her life.

Well, Sis, have I got a story for you.

It all started with what soon became the most monumental Gchat conversation I have ever had. The Flying Crane, who studied in London for two years, sent me a link to a review of a production of Much Ado About Nothing at the Wyndham Theatre in the West End. “I’m so sad I’m not in London right now…seriously…heartbroken,” she said.

I look at the review and realize the two leading roles are played by some of our favorite actors from Doctor Who. For the Doctor Who-obsessed like us, that’s pretty much like seeing a play starring Patrick Dempsey and Ellen Pompeo (okay bad example – had trouble thinking of actors in a mainstream American TV show that would be good at Shakespeare). The rest of our conversation went pretty much like this:

Me: Impromptu trip to London?
The Flying Crane: haha you kid but I already checked if tickets are still available.
Me: How much are they?
TFC: Which ones – because the limiting factor here should not be tickets to the show.
Me: True. Although I’m just saying, my uncle has a flat in London.
TFC: Stop it. Are you serious? We’re going.
Me: Yep. You only live once, right?
TFC: I think so.

We bought plane tickets yesterday. This spontaneous thing is kinda fun.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Epic Epicness, True Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Best Gchat EVER!!

  1. Pingback: That time when my students found my old blog | The 1st draft…

  2. Pingback: Juggling | The 1st draft…

  3. Pingback: I can expense this, right? | The 1st draft…

Leave a Reply

