Where in the world indeed

I know I probably make way too many references to 90s television from my childhood, but really they just don’t make kid shows like they used to. Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? is one such classic. One mention of that phrase and the theme song automatically starts playing in my head.

I often feel like they should re-make the show starring my sister. Her first international trip was to Europe for three weeks when I was in elementary school. During my middle school years she took off 10 months and backpacked around the world by herself, going everywhere from New Zealand to South Africa to France to Thailand. My senior year of high school she went to Honduras for a 3-week scuba diving trip and ended up working at a missionary hospital in the middle of the jungle for five years. Currently she is living on a sailboat with her husband and baby. You just can’t make this stuff up.

As anyone who has spoken to me anytime during the last few months knows, she is currently sailing north and plans to be in DC for the summer. I just about explode with excitement every time I think about having my sister and her family living (however temporarily) in my city. To help me pass the time until she gets here, I’ve decided to track her progress, Carmen Sandiego style:

I’m piecing this timeline together from my sister’s plans and updates that she emails out when possible (often via ham radio – that’s right, email via ham radio), so it may sometimes be off by a day or so. Despite all those years of Carmen Sandiego, geography has never been my strong suit so I may get everything totally wrong. Feel free to disregard accordingly.

So where in the world is my big sister today? This morning they leave Marathon, Florida and begin their journey up the east coast. I’ll be praying for fair winds and smooth sailing!

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Where in the World is My Sister? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

