And that’s the ball game

In the last two years I have been to all 7 games the St. Louis Cardinals have played in Washington, D.C. against the Nationals. Each time the Cardinals were in either first or second place in their division. The Nats, who have gone into every single one of those games in last place, have won 6 of 7, or 86 PERCENT of the time.

This has taken an incredible amount of surprisingly amazing play by the Nats and surprisingly horrid play by the Cardinals. I feel like the Nats should be paying me to attend their games, especially since I also watched them cream the Phillies (also first in their division) earlier this year.

The most awe-inspiring moment of tonight’s game was when a Nat (I literally can’t remember which one because it happened so many freakin’ times) homered and quite suddenly it was absolutely pouring – almost like the crack of his bat had commanded the rain to COME FORTH. The time it took to go from absolutely no precipitation whatsoever to buckets and buckets was about the same amount of time it took his ball to rocket over the centerfield wall. It happened so out of the blue that for about 5 seconds I was completely bewildered as to why I was getting wet. Then I did the only prudent thing and saved the food. Forget my co-workers, I’m using my umbrella to protect the funnel cake!!

Despite the Cardinals’ determination to lose at the Nationals stadium, it’s still a great place to watch a ballgame. I have definitely found my section, good ole 108. Near the foul pole, it is super close to the field with a great view while still being pretty dang cheap.

20110616-110419.jpg

Did you know that if a ball hits the foul pole, it’s actually a fair ball?
A little baseball trivia brought to you by my Dad.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, That's Very Irksome and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And that’s the ball game

  1. Pingback: I can expense this, right? | The 1st draft…

Leave a Reply

