Wait, where’s the real plane?

Somehow I always end up on the short bus of air travel when I fly. Okay, it’s probably because I bought the ticket that was $50 less than all the rest. The airport staff always try to conceal the plane’s true size until the last possible moment. I have learned to dread these signs that I am once again stuck on the chihuahua of commercial aircraft:

1. I can’t carry my carry-on bag on the plane since there’s not enough room in the overhead compartments.
2. Instead of boarding through a gate, I have to go outside and climb up stairs to get on.
3. There is only room for 3 seats across.
4. There’s only one flight attendant.
5. My seat in Row 10 is halfway back.

20110629-114137.jpg

I don’t have a problem with all small planes. My company has a plane that only seats 4 people including the pilot and it’s just about the smoothest ride around. But when you fly commercial on a plane on the smaller end of the scale, you’re almost guaranteed extra turbulence, which really does not combine well with my penchant for motion sickness.

Luckily I managed to avoid any ickyness this time around. It probably had to do with the fact that I forgot to bring a book and all I did for both one and a half hour flights was sit still with my eyes closed and think bland thoughts.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Nuttin'. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wait, where’s the real plane?

  1. Pingback: They just keep getting smaller | The 1st draft…

Leave a Reply

