*Gulp*

These past few days as maid of honor for The Former Expatriate I have been so focused on fulfilling my duty of taking care of the bride that I didn’t spend much time thinking about my other main duty – the toast. That is until we sat down to eat after the ceremony. When the Former Expatriate mentioned how relieved she was to have all the hard stuff behind her, my nerves realized they had been playing far too small of a role in the wedding thus far and promptly kicked it into high gear.

I’m a writer, not a public speaker. If I could have just posted my thoughts on a giant piece of paper for all to see that would have been ideal. As the seconds ticked by and I grew more anxious, I started trying to make it as easy as possible on myself. Not only did I make the best man go first, I also had my iPhone handy with a few notes.

After I got going it actually turned out pretty well. I guess I can thank my “conversational force” – a term The Former Expatriate recently coined. I’m thinking it’s basically a nice way to say that you can always count on me to talk way too loudly for way too long. It’s not the best super power I’ve ever heard of, but I guess I’ll take it.

20110703-010256.jpg

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to *Gulp*

  1. Kate says:

    It is TOTALLY a super power, and I think you should flaunt it. Conversational force is something a lot of people lack, and so use it wisely! 😛

Leave a Reply

