A rare appearance by ole TJ

I definitely did a double take the other day when I was buying emergency TP rations at the convenience store downstairs and the lady handed me this in change:

20110718-111252.jpg

I still remember when I was a kid saving these two $2 bills cause I think someone told me they would be worth something some day. Turns out they’re still just worth $2. I’m pretty disappointed about that. I think I still have them somewhere, although if I remember right they were a little worse for wear after the rats found them that one time.

Having this one worked out perfectly today when my co-worker gave me a Starbucks coupon for any cold grande drink for $2. I got to order my way-too-complicated frappacino for the first time in a while, plus I got to have fun with the cashier.

“It’s $2 ma’am.”
“Yes it is.”
“No, TWO dollars,” he repeated emphatically while waving the bill I had just handed him in the air.
“Yes I realize that.”
“But….”
*Awkward pause as I wait for him to catch on; finally I concede that he’s just not going to get there.* “That’s a $2 bill.”
“Ohhhhhhhhhh! Cool I’m keeping that!!!!”

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

