The best fans ever

My parents have visited me several times in DC over the years, but somehow it never seems to work out that they are here when I have a soccer game. Which is ridiculously unlucky when you think about it, since I play soccer 2-3 times a week, 12 months of the year. Mom finally got to see me play a few months ago and that was so awesome (she is the coolest soccer Mom ever!!) but I really wanted my Dad, who was also my coach for so many seasons of soccer, to be able to come to one. I have really missed our post game analysis sessions.

This visit they were planning on arriving in DC on Wednesday and leaving Monday morning. Care to guess when my two soccer games of the week were? That’s right, Monday and Tuesday night. In the end they decided to stay an extra day just to watch me play. No pressure.

At least we were playing on a pretty sweet turf field:

20110726-122636.jpg

I realized before the game that it would be the first time my Dad has seen me play for seven years. First of all, wow I can’t believe it’s been seven years since I played high school soccer. Okay in some ways I can.

I missed playing soccer while I was in college so when I moved to DC I was so excited by all the adult rec leagues that existed. The minute I stepped onto that field again, I realized just how much I LOVED and missed playing that amazing sport. Every game I am pumped to play and run around with a slightly unhealthy level of enthusiasm. But tonight I learned that apparently I hold just the tiniest bit back in reserve, waiting for that game when my Daddy’s there to watch.

Long story short, the game was EPIC.

Long story longer (and way less humble), in the very first minute I took a hard kick right to the face, managed to figure out which way was up and grab the ball, dribbled around a couple of people, and sent it to my friend playing forward on the right side. GOOOOOOAAAAAAAALLLLLLLL!!!! In the second half I faked out a couple of defenders and ended up one-on-one with the keeper. GOOOOOOAAAAAAAALLLLLLLL!!!! Then later I took a shot at the top right corner of the net. GOOOOOOAAAAAAAALLLLLLLL!!!!

Needless to say, I’m pretty sure it was the best game I have played in seven years. Sorry parents, you’re the key to victory, you can’t go home tomorrow. Or ever.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Epic Epicness, Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

