Fighting my inner couch potato

I am a confessed TV junkie who has not owned an actual television since college. I really never miss it – not the inconvenient schedules, not the tendency to cut out in a bad storm, and certainly not the commercials. These days I watch pretty much any show I want, any time I want, with no interruptions.

The only slight annoyance is the fact that I have to wait until the next day to watch the latest episode. Even that doesn’t normally bother me, but lately I have developed a seriously unhealthy obsession with White Collar. It has gotten to the point where I feel like I really need to step back and get some perspective, i.e. acknowledge the fact that it isn’t real.

Tonight was the summer finale and I just couldn’t face going to sleep without having first watched it. Normally that would mean staying up until after midnight for the show to be posted on the interwebs, but I came up with an alternative plan – namely the televisions in my apartment complex’s gym:

20110809-111323.jpg

Not only did I get to watch the amazing episode live, I also put in an hour of walking on the treadmill. It worked beautifully and I’m sure I’ll do it again at some point.

But wow I’d forgotten how much commercials suck.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fighting my inner couch potato

  1. Kate says:

    I need to try this in our gym on easy days! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

