Shake, rattle and roll

Is it wrong that I found being in a 5.8 earthquake entertaining? It was the first one I’ve ever experienced (that I didn’t sleep through) and I was somewhat fascinated. Only after my co-workers began running for the door frames did I realize I probably should be seeking cover.

It was so surprising – who expects an earthquake in DC? – that we actually didn’t figure out for a few seconds what was happening. Really it wasn’t even that dramatic. Too many movies has made me picture things falling off desks, people staggering about, glass breaking, etc. It didn’t even seem legit until I saw this debris near the elevator of my office:

20110823-091627.jpg

I know earthquakes can be catastrophic and I’m glad this one seems to not have had too many lasting effects, but I am a bit surprised by how much of a non-event it was. Maybe it comes from growing up in tornado alley but I find a twister much scarier.

The funniest part was when I called my sister to see if they were good and she said oh yeah the earthquake isn’t a problem, but we are thinking about leaving the area because of this hurricane (okay, it wasn’t haha funny, more like what-are-the-chances funny).

If I see a funnel cloud next that will be my sign that 2012 has gotten started a little early and it’s time to put my end-of-the-world plan in motion.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

