An activity forbidden by society based on moral judgment

Anytime there’s a game night, everyone knows (or finds out very quickly): Megan’s bringing the Taboo.

Taboo is simply the best game in existence. It has never failed to be an amazingly fun time. I have never wanted to stop playing Taboo. And trust me, there have been plenty of opportunities. I played it so much in college I actually think I had most of the cards memorized by the time I graduated (I’d take it as a kindness if no one pointed out to me what that says about my college experience).

Somewhere along the way my family’s Taboo game was lost. I have spent hours, days searching for that game – it simply will not be found. What I do have, though, is the refill pack. Which, when you think about it, is almost as good.

20110827-012754.jpg

What else do you really need to play? A timer? Got that on my watch. Instructions? Permanently committed to memory. A buzzer for when people say the taboo words? Okay, this is an area in which I will freely admit my refill pack is lacking. If only because I enjoy pretending the buzzer is an electric razor and running it up my leg. Yes I am 5.

One of the best parts (of which there are hundreds) about my refill pack is that I’m pretty sure it’s as old as I am. Meaning there are certain clues, especially people’s names, of which I am completely unfamiliar. It’s when I have to use the taboo words as context clues to describe something I’ve never actually heard of before that the game really gets interesting.

The other implication of having cards that are over two decades old is sometimes the most obvious taboo word ever is not listed. For instance tonight while I was playing one of the words was Joker. Of course you couldn’t say cards or Batman or wild. When the person said “A creepy character played by Heath Ledger” I thought, no way, Heath Ledger should totally be one of the taboo words. Who was listed there instead? Why Jack Nicholson of course. When headphones was the word, you were free to say iPod – just not Walkman.

Now if only I could figure out who this Lady Godiva person is (especially since her taboo words paint quite a picture)…

20110827-021205.jpg

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An activity forbidden by society based on moral judgment

  1. Pingback: My commitment to not letting burned calories go to waste | The 1st draft…

  2. Kate says:

    Lady Godiva: http://harvardmagazine.com/2003/07/lady-godiva-the-naked-tr.html

    I had no idea about the Peeping Tom part. That was interesting.

Leave a Reply

