My hurricane preparations

As soon as the hysteria over the earthquake had somewhat subsided in DC around Wednesday afternoon (btw this image will forever encapsulate that event for me), the hurricane frenzy stepped in to fill the void.

I understand the motto “better safe than sorry” as much as the next person. But I’m going to operate under the assumption that Hurricane Irene is not going to rock our shores because, well, DC doesn’t have any shores. So this is my hurricane plan:

20110827-015543.jpg

The flashlight because, hey, the power could go out and I need to be able to read one of the hundred books I’ve impulse-bought or see the impossibly difficult puzzle I’ll finally have time to work on. And the thumbs up because really, optimism works.

Before you judge, you should know that this little guy is quite the flashlight. It may be the size of my (baby doll) hands, but it packs a serious punch. Plus, if you click it twice, it turns into a laser pointer. I don’t know why that’s necessary but it’s very cool. Especially when you’re half blind and you can lay back in the pitch dark, take off your glasses, and wave it around really quickly. Not that I did that last night or anything.

Of course my Mom is not totally on board with my hurricane plan.

But really, if my sister has the guts to ride out the storm on a sailboat with her husband and 10-month-old baby, I feel like I can power through with my roof, four walls and an endless supply of Poptarts and Diet Coke.

Of course my thoughts and prayers are with those who actually have something to worry about – be safe!!

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My hurricane preparations

  1. yo mama says:

    oh my, Meg, Meg, Meg……..

Leave a Reply

