I think my brain got left on snooze.

Last night I finished packing about 11:15. Then I sat down to write on my blog and do a few other last minute things on my computer, and was in bed by midnight. Of course that was about the time that I began my night-before-a-trip tradition of getting in and out of bed about 15 times to check something or add something to my suitcase. I fell asleep around 12:30, satisfied that I would be getting almost 7 hours of sleep.

Imagine my disappointment when I got up and was so exhausted I was nauseous. Definitely not the way I wanted to start the day of my trip. Even after I got in the shower I just could not wake up. Finally I got out, still delirious from sleep, and looked at my watch to see how much time I had. And stared…and stared…and stared.

Finally the numbers came together in my addled mind to communicate a very important message: it was ONE FORTY-FIVE IN THE MORNING. I was suddenly hit with a wave of emotions. Confusion. Shock. Regret. Laughter (Is that an emotion? In my world it is). Eventually I settled on utter JOY that I could, in fact, go back to sleep. Sopping wet hair and all.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Nuttin'. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I think my brain got left on snooze.

  1. Anonymous says:

    It was just your body getting an early start on jet lag, darlin’. You shudda stayed up.

    • You’re probably right! Although I have developed a well thought out plan to battle jet lag that combines night time cold medicine with a steel resolve to stay awake once we get there. It’s foolproof, I swear!

Leave a Reply

