Bangers and mash!

I feel like this morning was so very long ago. My  roommate The Flying Crane and I went straight from work to the Baltimore airport, got there about 3 hours before our flight, took 20 minutes to get checked in and through security, and sat at one of the quietest gates ever. Later we would discover that the reason there were so few people there was because our plane could only hold about 30 at maximum capacity.

As soon as we got out off the plane in Toronto I took a sleeping pill. My plan was to take it 8 hours before we touched down in London so I wouldn’t be too drowsy when we got there. That part worked. Unfortunately for the first hour or so after we got on the plan there were so many lights, people complaining about the size of the seats (and kicking me in the back), pre-flight speeches in English and French, and so on that sleep was impossible, at least for me. So instead I sat there with my eyes closed, weaving in and out of a semi-delirious state. I think at some point they brought food and I ate, but that could have been a dream.

Eventually I took what I’m going to call a nap, and we arrived in London in an interesting state of both excitement and exhaustion. It was a pretty uneventful trip across the pond, for which I am very thankful except for the fact that it probably makes a pretty boring blog.

We even managed to find our way on the tube to my uncle’s flat, took a moment to thank him profusely for being so awesome, and then set out to do a little sightseeing. We started walking and didn’t stop until we’d seen Buckingham Palace, Green Park, St. James Park, Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, and The London Eye. I can already tell we are going to save so much time that would be spent staring blankly at maps – thank goodness The Flying Crane lived here for two years!

We got back to the flat around 6:45 and just about had fallen asleep in the living room when my uncle got back to take us for a pint and some traditional London pub food. I was so torn between fish and chips and bangers and mash that The Flying Crane and I split both! I have to say the bangers and mash tasted a lot better than it looks in this pic:

20110831-045207.jpg

Also The Flying Crane wants me to add that I made them both stop in the middle of the sidewalk next to a restaurant because I had picked up some wireless Internet on my phone and wanted to post to this blog. That’s how committed I am to the Daily Photo people!

Until tomorrow!

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bangers and mash!

  1. L'oncle says:

    It’s a good thing your friends and family are forgiving!

  2. yo mama says:

    I LOVE bangars and mash!!! Wish I could have been there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

