And we’re walking!

My roommate The Flying Crane is a walker. Whenever she says something is in walking distance, I always ask if she means her walking sphere or mine. I’ll be honest, mine is usually pretty minuscule. Let’s just say I ride my bike the four blocks to the metro every day.

But even I know the best way to see a city is to walk it. Since she is so familiar with the ins and outs of London, we don’t even have to worry about getting lost (much). So this morning I gave my feet a little pep talk and told them it would all be worth it. And of course it was.

Our first stop was the British Museum, which simply overwhelmed me with its vastness. I don’t really understand how something could be so large and open and yet so detailed and full. I also found the fact that it is several decades older than the United States pretty impressive. I guess being around for two and a half centuries gives you plenty of time to gather quite the collection. We saw the Rosetta Stone, the Elgin Marbles from the Parthenon, several mummies, and Thalia here (as well as about 50 million other things):

Thalia, as I learned, is the Muse of Comedy, the eighth born to Zeus and Mnemosyne. I feel like she, of all the Muses, is the one I really wish was in my corner. If only there were a tiny version of her available that I could carry around in my pocket. Or on my iPhone – there should definitely be an app for that!

And now it’s officially gotten too late for me to talk about the rest of our day – maybe if you’re really lucky I’ll update this tomorrow at breakfast.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And we’re walking!

  1. L'oncle says:

    “I guess being around for two and a half centuries gives you plenty of time to gather quite the collection.”

    I’m thinking that as a trained journalist with an excellent intellect you might want to replace “gather” with “plunder”… but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

