The postcard that puts all others to shame.

Tonight when I was going through all the mail we missed while in London (bill, junk, bill, junk disguised as real mail), I saw a little something with my Mom’s handwriting on it and was instantly excited. We have a tradition of sending each other little cards and notes and I am always highly amused by her stuff. This time she outdid herself:

20110906-113048.jpg

What is this, you ask? Only a fabric postcard to welcome home The Flying Crane and me. That’s right, it’s a postcard. Made of FABRIC! She actually designed, drafted, cut out, and sewed this adorable little piece just to send to us as a homecoming gift. And how cool are her fabric and color choices? Of course she had to work in some blue because of my obsession with that color, but I also love the yellow. It reminds me of the living room walls of my parents’ house, so bright and cheery. How awesome is my Mom? Seriously.

For now it will hang at a place of honor on my fridge, and then I’m going to get one of those double-sided frames so you can see both the fabric on the front and her little message on the back too. Thanks, Mom, for bringing a little more cheer into my return back to everyday life!

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The postcard that puts all others to shame.

  1. L'oncle says:

    Sweeeeet.

    But it’s “…the Flying Crane and me.” You got a degree in Journalism. The rule is “Take out the other noun/pronoun and see how it sounds”… “Only a fabric postcard to welcome home [The Flying Crane and] I.

Leave a Reply

