Where’s a good pair of galoshes when you need them?

My preferred method of getting to my sister’s boat is parking my car in a nearby park and having them come pick me up in the dinghy. I can park so close to where they are anchored I could swim to them if only 1. the Potomac wasn’t absolutely disgusting and 2. I could actually swim. I do have to hop a small railing, but it’s usually pretty easy.

Often the water creeps over the top of the wall and makes the grass near the edge pretty soggy. Other times the river gets so low I practically have to scale the wall just to get back to dry land.

Then came all the rain this week. This was my view from the park tonight:

20110908-112654.jpg

Note their boat in the top right corner, my BL waiting at the railing in the dinghy, and the great expanse of water between us. I think I should gets points for my commitment to making it to dinner:

20110908-112647.jpg

Especially considering who knows what is growing in this water:

20110908-112700.jpg

It was even more fun later on when I got out of the dinghy and into the freezing cold water up to my thighs.

20110908-112640.jpg

Unfortunately I had to go straight to a soccer game after dinner so I didn’t get to shower until almost two hours later. I wonder how much bacteria had the chance to grow on my legs in that amount of time…

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Nuttin' and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

