Return to the Falls

Anytime someone wants to go hiking in the DC area, I immediately suggest Great Falls, for several reasons:

1. On the way I can stop by my favorite deli that I used to eat at every day when my office was nearby
2. There are lots of rocks/trees to climb on
3. The Falls are beautiful:

20110910-095036.jpg

4. There are lots of rocks/trees to climb on

My sister was equally excited about hiking today. Unfortunately, as we quickly discovered, our definition of hiking differs somewhat…okay a lot. Hiking to me means marching through mud, jumping over creeks, hanging on trees, climbing up rocks, and generally acting like a 5-year-old on a jungle gym. Hiking to my sister means walking at a brisk pace, never stopping lest you loose your momentum, and getting actual, like, exercise. Bizarre, I know.

Let’s just say my BL and I met my sister and The Lady of the Sea at the Visitor’s Center about two hours later, after she had taken the extremely long way around and we had taken the scenic shortcut. At least we all agreed that those Italian sandwiches were the best lunch ever.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

