10 years

20110911-053027.jpg

The Newseum’s 9/11 exhibit was the perfect place to honor the ten year anniversary – it was just as moving as the first time I visited a year ago. The film with those journalists who not only covered, but lived in that day in New York City, only seems to get more poignant.

I can’t believe it has been 10 years, but more than that, it’s almost impossible to believe that all the children of today have no memory of that horrible day. My oldest nephew was born a month and a half after September 11. I know in reality it’s a good thing they don’t have those memories, but it’s hard for me to accept that to them, it will just be another event they read about in their history books.

“Something has happened that will change all our lives forever.” That was what my often spacey math teacher said as he walked into our first period class 15 minutes late. None of us believed him – until we all saw our world change right before our eyes. I will always remember the devastation, the fear, the anger. I will remember those who died and those who were left behind. I will have hope.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

