Why am I trying to read three books at once?

Oh yeah, because I started reading Brave New World on the flight home and then forgot it on the plane, started reading Moby Dick on my iPhone during my lunch hour, and now all I want to do is read that book by my favorite mommy blogger. There really need to be more hours in the day. Or less hours in the work day.

20110919-065034.jpg

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Latest Literary Obsession and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why am I trying to read three books at once?

  1. Pingback: Tricked into being charitable | The 1st draft…

  2. I’ve only read four chapters of Moby Dick so far but I find myself thoroughly enjoying it, quite unexpectedly. As for “Letters to a Young Poet,” I think it’s time to get that one back out. I decided to wait after I read the note you sent with it, put it on my bookshelf, and now after more than six years and a dozen moves I’d almost forgotten about it…but there it is, sitting on the same shelf. I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet considering how much I enjoyed all the other books you’ve sent, but now you’ve got me curious again.

  3. L'oncle says:

    Because two out of three are books you feel like you SHOULD read…. and they should only be read when you’re ready for them… The book I love above all others is Rilke’s “Letters to a Young Poet,” which I was given a copy of 6 years before reading it made sense… and it’s really really skinny book.

    I will read the entirety “Moby Dick” out loud to an audience of over 1,000 people in a marathon when I celebrate my 90th birthday, if I ever read any further than the first 5 chapters… which is as far as I’ve gotten so far.

Leave a Reply

