The dark side of piggy back rides.

I went with my sister and family to the Air and Space museum out by Dulles Airport this afternoon. We didn’t actually get there until 4, even though it closes at 5:30. 4 is also when they stop charging $15 for parking. Coincidence? I think not.

The Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center (that guy must have paid so much money to convince them to name the place that) is pretty much just a giant hangar filled to the brim with planes, helicopters, hang gliders, and the space shuttle Enterprise. And I mean “just” in the best possible way – I like being surrounded by hundreds of planes without any fancy displays to get in the way.

When I first walked in I had The Lady of the Sea on my shoulders. It’s my favorite way to carry her these days because she never gets too heavy and she absolutely loves it. As soon as I stepped in the doors I was told by a security guard that they do not allow children to be carried on shoulders inside the museum. I didn’t think much of it until I started seeing these signs all over the place:

20110925-071111.jpg

Since the signs were always prominently displayed on the railings of the higher level overlooks I don’t think I want to imagine what prompted this policy. The Lady of the Sea wanted to practice her walking anyway.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The dark side of piggy back rides.

  1. I’m sitting here waiting for my Uncle Larry to comment that a ride on the shoulders is not the same as a piggy back ride…I’m not sure what this says about me.

Leave a Reply

