Sandwich artist humor

Lunch is an important part of my day. It is eaten at noon on the dot or I go to a dark place. I am such a wimp when it comes to hunger. Just a bit longer, just a bit longer is the inevitable soundtrack of my mind from about 11:30 on. I have the habit of finding something I like and eating it every single day for months and months, so I try to make it something healthy (and cheap). At this point all of the “sandwich artists” at the Chinatown Subway know my order by heart.

I always make small talk with the kind Indian gentleman who rings me up and last week as I was paying he said “Next month, $5, anything you want, special frequent customer discount.” Needless to say, this ultimate lunch victory had me pretty excited. Upon returning to the office I not only told my co-workers but pretty much everyone else I know about this major life event. “This is where my tendency to eat the same thing every day really comes in handy,” I proudly announced on Facebook.

So it really cut deep when I saw this sign in a Subway in Springfield, Va. this afternoon:

20111002-103339.jpg

I see what you did there, Mr. Not-as-kind-as-I-thought Cashier Man. I’m glad I could provide that humorous break in your day.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sandwich artist humor

  1. L'oncle says:

    One of the things I love about you is that you can find- and share- the humor in this. You’re good, kiddo.

Leave a Reply

