I think I’m overestimating the power of the sparkly blue bandanna

I’m not usually one to set out my clothes the night before. Which is actually quite unfortunate because my train of thought most mornings is so slow it’s more like one of those handcar things:

Except imagine mine being pushed by an asthmatic child on one side and a man with one arm on the other. Figuring out what I’m going to wear most mornings goes something like this: Need clothes. *Reach down and grab pants that are draped over chair and take a good sniff.* Good enough. One of the most tragic parts about that sequence is that I actually have a horrible sense of smell.

Tomorrow I’m making an exception to the setting out clothes thing. Tomorrow, I’m running the Army Ten Miler. That’s t-e-n TEN miles. As in over three times the distance of any race I have ever run. I feel like that’s going to throw enough challenge in my day without having to worry about whether my socks match and if I’ve got my lucky sports bra. Plus there’s the fact that I spent $5 on this sweat resistant, no-slip bandanna at the Race Expo even though I promised myself I wouldn’t buy anything. But come ON. That’s a cool bandanna. I mean, it’s blue. And sparkly:

20111008-105109.jpg

Forgetting it would ruin the whole race even more than the actual having-to-run-10-miles thing. Okay probably not.

I’m supposed to meet my team at about 6:45 a.m. at the Pentagon. Usually when I get up that early, I have to remind myself that I don’t actually want the entire world to explode in a giant fireball so I can go back to sleep. I always try to walk back the hate before I interact with people. This time I think I’ll just concentrate it all on my teammates since it’s entirely their fault that I’ll be there at all.

I should probably go to bed before the massive panic attack I feel coming reaches my conscious mind. If this ends up being my last post, well…that would suck. Not the least of which because I’m supposed to be hosting a potluck at my house tomorrow afternoon and I’ve already decided to stuff myself silly to counteract all those calories I’ll have burned. Because there has to be some instant payoff for running 10 miles. Otherwise you’re just a crazy person running in circles.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

