I survived!

Here are the top ten things the Army Ten Miler taught me today about running a long(ish) distance race:

1. Your feet can discern an incline way before your eyes can.

2. Hearing the Rocky song for the 12th time is actually not a bad thing.

3. There is a thing called armpit chafing. And it is bad.

4. Don’t peak at mile 7. It makes miles 8, 9, and 10 really painful.

5. People like to yell loudly when everyone is under a tunnel. I don’t get it.

6. Always run with a buddy – I would probably still be at mile 4 without the Chapmans.

7. Almost as important as a buddy is a fan. When I saw The Flying Crane cheering me on with about a 1/2 mile to go, it gave me the boost I needed to finish at top speed. Granted by that point that wasn’t very fast, but still.

8. From a cardiovascular standpoint, playing over 200 minutes of soccer a week is apparently sufficient to be in pretty good shape.

9. Playing 90 minutes of soccer the day before the race, however, is really not helpful to your overall foot health. Or your shins.

10. The race itself is way better than the training beforehand. I think next time I’ll just skip that first step altogether. Not that I didn’t pretty much skip it this time around.

All in all, I wouldn’t exactly say it was something I would do for fun on a regular basis, but it was a good experience. As I predicted, now that it’s over, I’m really glad I did it. If only because I got this shiny new coin:

20111009-010214.jpg

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I survived!

  1. Pingback: The weekend my body tried to sue my mind for reckless endangerment | The 1st draft…

  2. Pingback: My adrenaline did not make it to the 4th game. | The 1st draft…

  3. marita says:

    adel from kpmaala thanks you deserve a honour if blater is aware of you becouse all you do is of merit to development of soccer.keep it.

  4. Kate says:

    Your hands look like baby hands in that picture ! Congratulations on the finish!

  5. L'oncle says:

    I’m gonna post this on my wall to get me ready for my first 10 mile run…. or not. Enjoyed your pain, however.

Leave a Reply

