My commitment to not letting burned calories go to waste

I’m guessing a majority of the 22,000 people who ran the Army Ten Miler with me yesterday took it easy the rest of the day. Spent some time on the couch. Watched a little TV. Maybe had a beer or two. Me? Nah. I biked home, wrote a blog post, showered, and got ready for the group of 5-20 people The Flying Crane and I were expecting for America the Delicious.

This schedule of events was not in the original plan. Mostly because the original plan had me running the Army Ten Miler on Saturday. Why did I think it was on Saturday? No idea. Apparently I figured it wasn’t worth the effort to actually check the date of the race on their website when I could just assume it was on the date of my choosing. Imagine my confusion when I got the email a week ago about the pre-race expo being on Friday from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Huh. Eventually I decided it was fate because what better thing to do directly after running 10 miles than consuming mass amounts of high-calorie American delicacies?

We ended up having about 10 people for America the Delicious and in case you were wondering, the deliciousness quota was far exceeded. We’re talking classics like mac & cheese, French fries, chocolate chip cookies, as well as some homemade pizza that I managed to not screw up too badly (with a not insignificant amount of help from The Flying Crane). It was such a great mix of people from different parts of each of our lives, all meshing together in awesome ways. Throw in a fast and furious game of Taboo and it was a wicked good time. That’s right. WICKED.

Another great thing about having the potluck right after the race was that I had ample opportunity to use my catch phrase of the week. When I took that third helping of mac & cheese? “It’s okay, I ran 10 miles today.” When I stayed in my seat and watched The Flying Crane help all our guests? “It’s okay, I ran 10 miles today.” When I couldn’t open the salsa jar? “It’s okay, I ran 10 miles today.” It was a pretty great all-purpose excuse.

You know what else I’m guessing a majority of my fellow Army Ten Miler runners didn’t do? Go to work today. Lame.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in True Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My commitment to not letting burned calories go to waste

  1. L'oncle says:

    Some day when we have time together, you’ll have to ask Greg what it was like when Greg took your dad to breakfast on his first morning in Portland after peddling the Lewis & Clark route… short version: GJ took him to Mother’s Bistro (PDX’s top brekkie site) where the waiter kept asking “if he was sure” that he wanted a couple of extra orders of roasted potatoes to go with his double orders of French Toast and pancakes. We won’t even talk about him asking for another bottle of Maple Syrup.

    Go for it, kiddo.

Leave a Reply

