Warrior art projects

I’m very excited about this weekend for several reasons. One, I get to spend it with my parents. Two, I get to hang out with The Former Expatriate. Three, I get to go to a Cardinals playoff game at Busch Stadium, which is SO AMAZING and which I will hopefully describe in detail later.

The fourth source of my excitement is also the reason for my trip to St. Louis – I am once again taking part in that epic journey known as the Warrior Dash. This one promises to be even more fantastic because not only is The Former Expatriate joining me, I’ve also convinced my Dad to compete as well. He is so hard core.

Of course I could never run in the Warrior Dash without assembling a super incredible costume. This time around The Former Expatriate and I finally settled on Thing 1 and Thing 2 (Knowing my father’s dark Dr. Seuss past I decided trying to convince him to dress up as the Cat in the Hat would not be a successful endeavor). Always the procrastinator, I waited until Sunday to order my t-shirt. I had found one for cheap on this random web site that seemed a bit shady. On Monday I called to confirm that I would have it by Friday. The conversation went something like this:

“Did you want this in white?” the lady asked.
“Well no, it’s a red shirt, I’d like it in red.”
“You selected white.”
“But it only comes in red. I wanted red.”
“Red costs $5 extra.”
“But it’s a red shirt. It only comes in red.”
“You selected white. Red costs $5 extra.”
“Okay…how about I just cancel my order?”

So then I had to quickly order a new one from Amazon, which guaranteed arrival on either Thursday, Friday, or Monday. I’m sure you can guess whether I had it by today or not. But I was on a mission to be Thing 2 and nothing was going to stop me. One paper plate, a permanent marker, and 15 minutes of art time later, and my solution was taking shape:

20111015-122355.jpg

Throw in a pair of red tights, a red t-shirt, and some packing tape, and I am good to go for Operation: Warrior Thing 2. It’s going to be legendary.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

