Adventures in mud

The Warrior Dash managed to be EPIC yet again, especially since my Dad and The Former Expatriate were along for the ride. One of the things that had made me really nervous about running the Army Ten Miler was my memory of the last Warrior Dash I did and how worn out I was after only a mile or so. After I fared so much better at the Ten Miler I figured I was just in much better shape.

Not so much – I was breathing heavy after about 3/4 of a mile. There’s just something about the uneven, extremely hilly terrain that makes it infinitely more exhausting. It’s probably the hills. And the uneven terrain.

It has been extremely dry in Missouri lately so all the places that would have been muddy were pretty much just dirt. Of course it’s the Warrior Dash, so they made up for any lack of mud along the rest of the course with a bog of it at the very end that you basically (and by that I mean most definitely) had to swim through. So all three of us managed to finish with an acceptable level of mud:

My Mom and The Former Expatriate’s husband were great fans, cheering us on, getting some great pictures, and, most importantly, holding all of our crap. Mom was wearing a walking boot on her right foot because of a stress fracture and was a real trooper. She stepped it up and took one for the team by raising her normal tolerable mud threshold. My photo of the day of her sock by the end of the race really says it all:

20111015-094814.jpg

I mean, WOW. Talk about going out of your comfort zone. With that level of mud, I’m surprised she didn’t want to get hosed down with the rest of us. Way to take it like a warrior Mom!

More Warrior Dash coverage to come, stay tuned!

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in mud

  1. L'oncle says:

    You dance along the high wire of sarcasm at your own peril, my dear. And showing your mother’s grossly muddy socks is like throwing your balance pole away.

Leave a Reply

