That’s a winner!

I grew up watching the St. Louis Cardinals with my Dad. Together we saw The Wizard open every season with a flip. Dad took me to Busch Stadium to see my first major league game when I was 6. During that game I managed to cajole a baseball out of one of the ball guys on the field, which I am still admiring on my bookshelf right now:

20111016-104308.jpg

Also on this shelf is a picture of Dad's childhood baseball team. His essence is so well captured I firmly believe anyone who has known him for more than an hour could pick him out in less than 5 seconds.

Dad pulled me out of class (one of the coolest moments in my elementary school career) so we could see the Cards in the playoffs in 1996. Later that month we watched them lose the National League Championship to the Braves after being up 3 games to 1 (I still remember asking Dad as he tucked me in before Game 7 was over if he thought we could come back from the 15-0 score in the 8th inning).

Every season we made the 2 hour drive at least once to see a game, including the time Dad proudly sat with me in the second to last row of the entire ballpark in the seats I had bought him for Father’s Day. On a Friday in late October 2006 I raced home from college to watch Game 5 of the World Series with him. He was my first high five after Adam Wainwright struck out Inge to win the Cardinals the World Series title.

So when it just so happened that I was going to be in St. Louis with my Dad at the same time that the Cardinals were playing at Busch Stadium for the National League Championship, there was no way that we were not going to that game. Granted it would cost about twice what we had ever paid for seats, much less ones that weren’t even actual seats, but we were going. We soon learned that Standing Room Only tickets mean basically playing Baseball Musical Chairs (without the chairs). This was our view for the first inning:

Then we grabbed hot dogs and stopped right in front of the sign that said No Standing to watch the game from here for an inning:

Then we got shooed away by the power-loving usher to here for a bit:

Finally we settled here for a few innings:

Until we got tired of our view getting blocked every time people stood up and decided to move for the last time to get this view:

I can honestly say we saw the game from every angle, and from every angle it was awesome!!! It was such a great night to be a Cardinals fan at Busch Stadium and I wouldn’t have wanted to be there with anyone else.

Now I’m back in DC and he’s back home as well, although he DVR’d the game so he’s behind me by at least 2 innings. That means that while I now know that the Cardinals are HEADED TO THE WORLD SERIES, he’s still waiting to find out. Don’t worry Dad, our boys are going to pull it out. And I’m going to stay up until you see it so we can celebrate.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s a winner!

  1. L'oncle says:

    Seriously Sweet. I’m pretty sure the only Cardinals games I ever went to with your dad were football games, but I couldn’t swear to it. Most of the baseball games I went to in Busch Stadium ended for me somewhere around the 7th inning when everybody else stood up and stretched and I figured out how to sleep in a cheap seat til it was time to go back to C’dale.

Leave a Reply

