The mystery of the missing cleat

Today was one of those Saturdays when you really just shouldn’t leave the house. The storm clouds were spitting out precipitation for hours and hours, switching from rain to snow to rain as the temperature hovered around a balmy 32 degrees. In other words, completely ideal weather for my 11:45 a.m. soccer game.

I was a bit rushed getting to the game and decided to put my stuff on in the car to avoid lugging my bag out into the slop. Putting on my shinguards, brace, and cleats is something I could do blindfolded while riding in a car going 90 miles an hour, so I wasn’t really paying attention until I realized there was only one cleat in the quarantined-due-to-extreme-odor compartment. Cleats in the soccer bag, Diet Coke in the fridge, free queso at Cal Tor – these are things I have learned to count on in life and I was very confused as to how to proceed. Since I have tiny baby doll feet borrowing was not an option.

And that was how I ended up playing 90 minutes of soccer in freezing rain wearing my indoor soccer shoes. Not exactly the ideal footwear considering they have rubber soles and were designed for play on surfaces like basketball courts. It took about five minutes for me to slip over absolutely nothing and land on the completely soaked turf. Very refreshing.

Good news, besides the fact that I scored a PK and we won the game, is that those cleats were already on their last legs. Due to the aforementioned baby doll feet, replacing them is less costly to me than most. One 15-minute trip to the Sports Authority down the street and I had brand new size 5 kid’s cleats for $25. The bonus bits of blue really put the extra whipped cream on top*:

20111029-221745.jpg

Still really curious where that other cleat ended up.

*I don’t like cherries.
About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The mystery of the missing cleat

  1. Pingback: I could do with a good foot massage right about now | The 1st draft…

Leave a Reply

