Warning: Astonishingly bad photography ahead

This is supposed to be a post about the amazing brunch I had at IHOP with Cecily. I had already written practically the whole thing in my head. You would have read all about the cinn-a-stack I had with real cinnamon roll filling on top of each pancake as well as cinnamon roll icing on top. For pancakes such as these, syrup is completely redundant. I would also have written about the awesome scrambled eggs with melted cheddar cheese, the sausage links, the golden hashbrowns, the orange juice with absolutely no pulp whatsoever.

Yeah, this post would have had your mouth watering. Instead it’s a demonstration in my horrible photography skills, especially in public. I have this anxiety when taking a photo with my phone in front of other people. I think it comes from the fact that for my blog I’m usually taking photos of pretty random things like breakfast food. To minimize this ridiculous anxiety, I try to take the photo at warp speed, which results in gorgeous shots like these:

20111030-205445.jpg

If you really squint, you can kind of make out the pancakes with whipped cream, the hashbrowns, and one lonely sausage link. Also my lovely legs and brand new bright red soccer shorts. Very appetizing indeed.

You’d think I would be cured of this after taking a photo every single day for the last 6 and a half months. Apparently not. Some would probably choose to find another photo of the day. Instead I am embracing it as a reminder to myself that spending 10 seconds to take a photo in public is not going to earn the wrath and scorn of all those around me. Probably.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Warning: Astonishingly bad photography ahead

  1. Cecily says:

    hahaha love it! The photo might have been an accident, but I actually kinda like it. A lot. I might love it. Yay for happy mistakes (and utterly amazing and delicious breakfast food!)!

Leave a Reply

