The most convoluted story about Skittles you’ll ever read.

The world loves to prove me wrong; in fact I’d go so far as to say making me eat my words is one of the world’s hobbies. But as long as I’m eating purple-bag Skittles too, I’m pretty okay with it.

Let me start again. Yesterday during the Chiligasm I decided to make a beer run – okay actually it was more of a Diet Coke run – to 7-Eleven. Dang…you know, I’m really trying to cut down on my tangents. But as I was writing that I just realized that 7-Eleven is violating no less than three separate Associated Press style rules with their name. One, a number less than 10 should be spelled out; two, a number 10 or higher should be written as a numeral; and three, there is absolutely no reason for that to be a hyphen instead of a space. Shame on you 7-Eleven. Those of us who view the AP style guide as our second Bible are judging you. All 11 of us. That’s right, I said 11 – not Eleven, 11.

Anyway, while at 7-Eleven that place I happened to spot another purple bag of Skittles. This was only a week after I gushed about having my first purple bag of Skittles in years since they are nowhere to be found anymore. Except for, apparently, street vendors and 7-Elevens those other places. I was quite excited about being proven wrong and bought a bag on the spot. Then I stuffed myself so full of chili that the idea of putting one single Skittle in my mouth made me think I was going to, to use one of my favorite euphemisms, technicolor yawn.

So I stashed them in my purse and then today as I was driving to the movie theater with my cousin I realized how perfect the situation had become: There’s nothing better at the movies than mixing the salt of buttered popcorn with the sweet of a purple bag of Skittles. The only problem was we were running late so I ended up sitting in a pitch black theater, rooting through my purse for the bag that I was sure was in there. Until I remembered I had dumped out my purse earlier in the day in a rapid hunt for my keys.

I cried a silent cry for my missing bag of Skittles and was eventually distracted by the amazingness that was the movie. At first I really thought I wouldn’t like Anonymous because I figured they would annihilate Shakespeare’s reputation and I love Shakespeare. They did in fact completely annihilate his reputation, but I found myself not caring because the movie was just that good. They wove their tale so well within actual historical events that it came across very authentic. Also I had several “I was JUST THERE” London moments. The sad ending didn’t even ruin it for me, which is very, very unlike me. Maybe it’s because I knew how history had played out (knowledge I came across only because of my recent tour of Westminster Abbey), so I had time to prepare myself for the sadness I knew would ensue. Wow there is just no standing between me and a good tangent, huh?

What was I even talking about? Right. Skittles. I’m sure you can all guess where I found the missing bag upon arriving at home. It just wouldn’t be my story if I didn’t locate them right there in my purse. I may have missed the chance to mix them with popcorn, but they still make a helluva midnight snack.

20111106-230055.jpg

Oh, and if you’re asking yourself, is a purple bag of Skittles really worth being my Daily Photo twice in less than two weeks? The answer is yes, yes it is.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The most convoluted story about Skittles you’ll ever read.

  1. It’s the journalism school. You don’t come back from that kind of brainwashing.

  2. Anonymous says:

    P.S. I finally had to give up Skittles and it was barely easier than giving up smoking.

  3. Anonymous says:

    You surprise me. The AP style guide is a collection of anachronisms and antediluvian rules created when type was still set in wooden blocks, modified only slightly with the arrival of lead.

Leave a Reply

