Goodbye fall, hello Christmas!

This weekend’s beauty was enough to make even the nature-apathetic like myself take notice. Both my soccer game yesterday and the one this morning were played under a bright sun, the temperature hovering in the mid-60s, and the trees pulling out all the stops for the finale of their fall performance.

As my game was wrapping up, I realized this may be the very last weekend we have to enjoy before Winter makes its own chilling debut. So when I got home I asked The Flying Crane if she wanted to go for a walk. Needless to say she had to take a few minutes to amply recover from that shocker, after which we spent a couple of hours soaking in some nature. Of course we also managed to work in a little shopping and some Mexican food. Because what’s a walk without spending money and stuffing your face?

While we were walking I took a moment to mourn all the leaves lying in the gutters:

20111113-204219.jpg

Eventually that moment passed and I started to get VERY EXCITED about the next season: No, not winter, but Christmas! Take this as a warning of the dozens of Christmas decoration photos to come. I make it a rule to not put anything out until after Thanksgiving, but I made several purchases today that have already got me mentally diagramming out my entire apartment. My halls have no idea the decking they are about to receive.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

